Skip to main content

Winners of the 2016 Competition

The 15th annual Palladio Awards competition recognized ten architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The commercial/institutional 2016 Palladio Award winners:

Restoration and Renovation
Charles Deering Library, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
HBRA Architects, Inc.

Adaptive Reuse/Sympathetic Addition
Cristo Rey Columbus High School, Columbus, OH
Schooley Caldwell Associates

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.
Christopher Newport Hall, Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA
Glavé & Holmes Architecture

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft.
Immanuel Chapel, Virginia Theological Seminary,
Alexandria, VA
Robert A.M. Stern Architects

Public Spaces, Parks, Gardens, Streetscapes
Steven S. Koblik Education & Visitor Center, San Marino, CA
Architectural Resources Group, Inc.

Special Award for Craftsmanship
Chara Aurora Cooper Haas Pipe Organ Façade, General Church of the New Jerusalem, Bryn Athyn, PA
Historic Doors, LLC

The residential 2016 Palladio Award winners:

Adaptive Reuse / Sympathetic Addition
Badger Hill Farm, Marshall, Virginia
Neumann Lewis Buchanan Architects

New Design & Construction, less than 5,000 square feet
Upper West Side, New York, New York
Fairfax & Sammons Architects

Restoration & Renovation
Victorian Residence, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Kass & Associates

New Design & Construction, more than 5,000 square feet
Two awards:
French Ranch, Hidden Valley California
Michael Burch Architects

Howell House, Panama City, Florida
Eric Watson Architect

Exterior Space
New Classic, Greenwich, Connecticut
Doyle Herman Design Associates

Residential & Multi-unit Projecting
Eugene O'Neill Theater, Waterford, Connecticut
Centerbrook Architects and Planners

Traditional Building published the commercial/institutional winning projects in the June 2016 issue. Period Homes featured residential award winners in the July 2016 issue. 

The 2016 Palladio Awards ceremony took place July 19 at 7 p.m. during the Traditional Building Conference at the Lawn Club, New Haven Connecticut.