Traditional Plaster 101

PatrickWebb

October 12, 2017 2 pm ET (1 pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT)

Register Here

Speaker: Patrick Webb, Lecturer and Research Associate, The Center for Traditional Craft in Savannah, GA

1 AIA HSW Learning Unit

This session will consider the various material components that constitute heritage plasters, stuccoes and mortars with a special focus on the chemistry and practical applications of the five "binders" (active components that have the most determinative influence on performance).

Learning Objectives:

· Define what "plaster" means in everyday use and how it corresponds to the similar terms of stucco and mortar.

· Explain the important role of aggregates and fibers.

· Provide an overview of the general chemical behavior of various plaster binders.

· Give examples of practical applications in contemporary building and how heritage plasters have been put to good use in the past.