Applying Building Codes to Historic Buildings - The Traditional Building Conference Series

Applying Building Codes to Historic Buildings

Lancaster_Central_Market_TopPhoto

Thursday, October 5, 2017 2 pm ET (1 pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT)

Register Here

Applying Building Codes to Historic Buildings

Speaker: Theodore Vedock, AIA, Hammel Associates Architects, LLC, Lancaster, PA

1.5 AIA HSW Learning Units

The International Building Code (IBC) and International Existing Building Code (IEBC) give consideration to historic buildings to accommodate their use and reuse for a multitude of purposes. The presenter, an experienced preservation architect whose firm has worked on more than 120 historic buildings, will use case studies to illustrate alternative compliance paths. He will trace the history of building codes and their application to historic buildings. He will also discuss accessibility.

Learning Objectives

· Discuss how existing and historic buildings are addressed in the International Building Code and International Existing Building Code.

· Compare and contrast alternative compliance paths available to the project designer.

· Cite examples of alternative compliance paths that have been successfully used in historic preservation through case studies.

· Recall historic architectural elements, finishes, and materials saved in the case studies and discuss how similar strategies can protect historic materials in future work.