The Palladio Awards - The Traditional Building Conference Series

The Palladio Awards

2017 Palladio Awards

The Palladio Awards honor outstanding achievement in traditional design. The event recognizes both individual designers and design teams whose work enhances the beauty and humane qualities of the built environment. Through creative interpretation or adaptation of design principles, we celebrate techniques developed through 2,500 years of Western architectural tradition. The Palladio Awards are the first and only national awards program for residential and commercial/institutional projects which demonstrate excellence in traditional design.

Winners of the 2019 Palladio Design Awards will be commemorated at a ceremony and dinner during the Traditional Building Conference. All winning projects will be published in the June issue of Traditional Building

See Application and Entry Requirements.

Download Entry Specifications PDF

2018 Palladio Award Winners


Restoration and Renovation – Many Glacier Hotel Rehabilitation, Glacier National Park – Anderson Hallas Architects

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 SF – Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University – Robert A.M. Stern Architects

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 SF – Thorndale Farm New Corporate Offices, Millbrook, NY – Voith & Mactavish Architects & G.P. Schafer Architect

Adaptive Reuse/Sympathetic Addition – Child’s Building at Coney Island – Gerner Kronick & Valcarcel Architects

Public Spaces – Longwood Gardens, Main Fountain Garden Restoration, Kennett Square, PA – Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners


Residential Multi-Unit – New Townhouses, Brooklyn, New York Fairfax & Sammons Architects

New Design & Construction (More than 5000 square feet) – Mead Pont Shingle Style Residence VanderHorn Architects

Adaptive Reuse and/or Sympathetic Addition – Holmby Hills Residence, Holmby Hills, California Michael Burch Architects

Restoration & Renovation – Cunningham, Atlanta, Georgia TS Adams Studio

Exterior Spaces: Gardens & Landscapes (Tie)

Farmhouse Gardens, Washington Connecticut – Haver & Skolnick Architects

Main Line Estate, Wynnewood, Pennsylvania – Doyle Herman Design Associates

New Design & Construction (Less than 5,000 square feet) (3-way Tie)

Kinsley, Oxford Maryland – John Milner Architects

New House, Jackson, Wyoming – Peter Zimmerman Architects

Villa on the Gulf, Alys Beach, Florida – Jeffrey Dungan Architects 

Click here to see the 2017 Palladio Award Winners