About

The Traditional Building Conference Series delivers focused, relevant education and training for architects, contractors, craftspeople, designers, building owners and facilities managers in a time efficient format for AIA Continuing Education Credits. The 2020-2021 curriculum is a combination of online learning, including annual two-day virtual conferences, a web seminar series and an in-person event December 1-2, 2021, at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables Florida.

The Traditional Building Conference Series faculty features industry experts and practitioners who present a mix of hands-on construction techniques, methods and materials, classical design, urban planning, and sustainable building practice for updating and preserving traditional and historic buildings of all types.

The Traditional Building Conference Series is produced by the Home Group, Active Interest Media, a trade events and magazine media company with offices in New York, Gloucester MA., Washington D.C., Des Moines IA., and Boulder CO. AIM's conferences and magazine media serve an audience of over 50 million with brands which include: TRADITIONAL BUILDING; Period-Homes Digital; NEW OLD HOUSE; OLD HOUSE JOURNAL; ARTS & CRAFTS HOMES; TimberHomeLiving.com; WOODSMITH and Woodsmith Shop T.V.

Meet our team!

EDUCATION

Judy Hayward, Education Director
jhayward@aimmedia.com

Carolyn Walsh, Operations Manager
cwalsh@aimmedia.com

Griffin Suber., Marketing Partnerships Manager and Copy Editor
gsuber@aimmedia.com

Dorian Henao, Virtual Conference Manager.
dhenao@aimmedia.com

Josh Cohn, Executive Assistant and ICAA Mid Atlantic Chapter Coordinator
jcohn@aimmedia.com

MAGAZINE and DIGITAL MEDIA

Patricia Poore, Editorial Director, Editor OLD HOUSE JOURNAL
ppoore@aimmedia.com

Nancy Berry Editor, TRADITIONAL BUILDING. NEW OLD HOUSE
berry42067@gmail.com

Emily O Brien, Managing Editor TRADITIONAL BUILDING. Digital Editor OLD HOUSE JOURNAL
eobrien@aimmedia.com

LJ Lindhurst, Director of Digital Media
llindhurst@aimmedia.com

Mary Ellen Polson, Associate Editor OLD HOUSE JOURNAL
mepolson@charter.net

Katherine Owen, Digital Editor TimberHomeLiving.com
kowen@aimmedia.com

ADVISORY GROUP

Cal Bowie, Bowie Gridley Architects
cbowie@bowiegridley.com

Graham S. Wyatt, Robert A.M. Stern Architects
g.wyatt@RAMSA.COM

Stephen Payne, Payne Bouchier Builders
spayne@paynebouchier.com

Steven Semes, University of Notre Dame
semes.1@nd.edu

Erik Evens, Evens Architects
erik@helloprgroup.com

Duncan Stroik, Duncan G. Stroik Architect
stroik@stroik.com

Jill H. Gotthelf, WSA/Modern Ruins
jhgotthelf@Modernruins.com

The Traditional Building Conference Series is a registered provider of AIA continuing education credits. Credits for NARI, AIBD, and certain NAHB classifications can be arranged. LEED accredited professionals and interior designers should contact the education director to determine if any courses have been registered for continuing education credits with the IDCEC or the USGBC. 

Interested in learning about previous conferences? 

Winston-Salem 2019

Hudson Valley 2019

Winterthur 2019

Princeton 2018

Oak Park 2018

Brooklyn 2017

Salem 2017

Charleston 2017

Washington, D.C. 2016

Pittsburgh 2016

New Haven 2016

Past Attendees Include:

Robert Stern Architects

Historical Concepts

Peter Pennoyer Architects

John Murray Architects

Fairfax Sammons

Einhorn Yaffee Prescot

Quinn Evans Architects

Glave Holmes

Schooly Caldwell Architects

Barnze Vanze Architects

David Schwartz Architects

Shope Reno Architects

The Architect of the Capitol

The National Park Service

U.S. Department of State

U.S. Department of Defense

General Services Administration

Princeton University

Duke University

MIT

Amer College of the Building Arts

S.C Historic Preservation Office

N.C. State Historic Preservation Office

Past Webinar Attendees Include:

Texas Historical Commission

City of Jacksonville

N.C. State University

Historic Santa Fe Foundation

U.S. Army

City of Hattiesburg MS.

Historic Rehab Contractors Inc.

Metropolitan Restorations Company Inc.

Bell Architects

City of Auburn AL.

Vanderbilt University

Johnson Laskey Architects

Vanccouver Heritage Foundation

Weslyan University