Speakers: The Traditional Building Conference. - The Traditional Building Conference Series


Call for Presentations: The 2018 Traditional Building Conference Series

Materials and Methods is the theme for conferences in 2018. We are particularly keen to present collaborations between architects, contractors, and craftspeople that are rich with practical how-to information. To submit a proposal for a presentation, fill out this online form.

Speakers receive free tuition for themselves and a guest at the nation’s premier business to business event for traditional building and historic preservation. Submit a proposal today to be part of this growing event for preservation and traditional building pros.

Princeton Speakers



Phillip James Dodd

Phillip is a Fellow Emeritus at The Institute of Classical Architecture and Art and served as the jury coordinator for the annual Arthur Ross Awards from 2006-2009. He has taught classical design at ICAA, Notre Dame, the Interiors Departments at New York’s Parson’s School of Design, and the Fashion Institute of Technology. He has lectured extensively throughout the United States on the subject of classical architecture.


Ray Tschoepe

In addition to his current role as Director of Conservation at the Fairmont Conservancy, Ray has been an adjunct professor of building conservation in the Bucks Co. Comm. College Preservation Program. He has designed and completed various restoration projects throughout Fairmount Park and in a variety of Philadelphia landmarks.




David Howell

David Howell is an Architect and Program Manager with the Office of Design & Construction at Princeton University. Since 1991, he has managed construction and renovation projects for the University with a focus on envelope restoration and adaptive reuse of the interiors.





 Michael J. Mills, FAIA

Michael J. Mills, FAIA, has devoted more than twenty-five years to the preservation, restoration, and adaptive use of some of the New Jersey's most significant historic structures. His award-winning projects include the New Jersey State House and State House Annex, the Essex County Courthouse, and the Princeton University Graduate College and its landmark Cleveland Tower.





David Jesson  

David has worked on many significant Toronto projects such as  the transformation of Toronto’s Stock Exchange into the Design Exchange, the Roy Thomson Hall Enhancement for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and most recently the Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building and Louis A. Simpson International Building in the former Frick Chemistry Lab at Princeton University. He is currently senior associate-in-charge of the renovation of Robertson Hall at Princeton University.



 Doug Bracken

Doug is the President of Wiemann Metalcraft






Scott Intagliata

Mr. Intagliata has worked as a freelance journalist and spent 11 years consulting on political campaigns. For the last 15 years he has been one of the owners of Unico, Inc., a manufacturer of heating and air conditioning equipment located in St. Louis MO.





James S. Collins

James S. Collins is an award winning architect, educator and architectural historian who designs new classical and traditional buildings, interiors and appropriate additions to existing structures. His firm’s work has been featured in A Decade of Art and Architecture and The Classicist No. 13, as well as, in Period Homes, New Old House, Design Bureau, and Washington Life Magazines.




C. Scott Lange

In his current role as Northeast/Midwest Regional Sales Manager at Ludowici, Mr. Lange directs a team of territory managers and independent sales firms in the Mid-Atlantic and Northeast with a goal towards growth and successful customer implementation of architectural terra cotta products from Ludowici and Terreal North America including roof tile, wall tile, floor tile and solar shades.



David Martin

David Martin

David Martin has been President of Allied Window, Inc. since 1971. Prior to that he was a Manufacturing Consultant for Deloitte Haskins & Sells, Manager of Materials at Lodge & Shipley, Plant Manager at Cintas, and rose the ranks at GE for 8 years. A graduate of the University of Cincinnati, he received his MBA degree at Xavier University. He has served his industry, becoming national VP of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry. He was active in small business issues, and was a congressional appointee delegate to the first White House Conference on Small Business in 1980.




Michael Mehaffy

Michael Mehaffy is Chair of the College of Chapters of INTBAU, an international NGO dedicated to the enduring treasures of traditional building, architecture and urbanism. He is also executive director of the Sustasis Foundation in Portland, Oregon. Michael has held teaching or research appointments at six graduate institutions in five countries, and he is currently on the editorial boards of two international journals of urban design.



LMM photo

 Lorine Murray-Mechini, AIA, LEED AP

Lorine was responsible for managing the Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building and Louis A. Simpson Building project for Princeton University. Currently she manages the Princeton Childcare Center, Robertson Hall and Firestone Library projects. She joined the Office of Design and Construction in 2013 after working for 27 years in private architectural practice. With her previous firm, she managed earlier work at Robertson Hall, and led a project at Jones Hall. 





Donald H. Ruggles, AIA, ICAA, NCARB

Donald H. Ruggles is president of Ruggles Mabe Studio, a boutique architecture and interior design firm based in Colorado. Founded in 1970, the firm is dedicated to the idea that beauty can improve the lives of its clients. The firm's projects have been featured in publications throughout the U.S. and Europe, and have received numerous awards for its work and dedication to the industry. 



Nikos A. Salingaros

Dr. Nikos A. Salingaros is an internationally recognized architectural theorist and urbanist. He is known for his original contributions that helped to establish new disciplines such as Biophilia, Design Patterns, Complexity, Neurogeometric design, the Fractal City, and the Network City. Salingaros worked with visionary architect and urbanist Christopher Alexander for twenty years in helping to edit Alexander’s four-volume book The Nature of Order.


Kyle Sword

 Kyle Sword

Kyle Sword is the Business Development Manager for Pilkington North America and heads the company’s interests in historic restoration. Kyle has worked for Pilkington for 15+ years, primarily involved in the manufacturing process of glass making. Kyle is involved with a variety of different technological developments in the glass industry and is constantly looking for ways to find solutions in interesting and unique ways.



 Laurie Wells

A thirty-two year veteran of historic building preservation as an estimator and project manager, Laurie draws from an extensive practical knowledge base. Her expertise spans pre-construction consulting, specification writing, budget preparation, projects phasing, trade coordination, and project completion.



 Clifford W. Zink

Clifford W. Zink is an historic preservation consultant based in Princeton, New Jersey, and an historian specializing in architectural, industrial, engineering, and landscape history. Mr. Zink received the 2011 John A. Roebling Award from the Society for Industrial Archeology’s Roebling Chapter for an outstanding contribution to documenting or preserving the industrial heritage of the greater New York-New Jersey area. 


traditional building conference princeton 2018

Previous Speakers: Oak Park 2018

Stephen J. Kelly, FAIA, SE, FAPT

Charles "Chick" McBrien

Matthew McNicholas, AIA, LEED AP

John Sandor

Robert Score, AIA

Susan Turner, FAIA

Robin Whitehurst

Daniel M. Worth, AIA, FAPT

Past Speakers