Traditional Doors: A Master Class on Craft, Form and Function

hull_doors

Wednesday, September 27 2 pm ET (1 pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT)

Register Here

Speaker: Brent Hull, craftsman and President, Hull Historical, Inc., Fort Worth, TX. Author of Historic Millwork, Traditional American Rooms (with Christine G. H. Franck) and Building a Timeless House in an Instant Age.

1.25 AIA HSW Learning Units

Doors are the gateway to buildings and, while we usually take in the whole structure before we enter, doors are the first architectural element we see and touch. So it is not surprising that the cover of Brent Hull’s most recent book features an open wooden door in a traditional stone building. The craft of building, installing, and maintaining good wooden doors is an important process for any professional working on historic architecture or constructing new, traditionally inspired buildings. Join a veteran woodworking craftsman for a master class on the history of traditional doors and the methods that allow them to endure the test of time.

Learning Objectives:

· Review the stylistic compositions and best craft practices to build traditional wooden doors.

· Discuss craft detailing and finishes that expand the life of doors in harsh climates.

· Explain and specify best practices for installation, maintenance and repairs.

· Plan for sound operation in high traffic areas particularly when working in historic residential, commercial, and institutional settings.