Traditional Materials, Contemporary Methods: A Case Study of Christopher Newport Hall

christopher-2

October 26, 2017 2 pm ET (1 pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT)

Register Here

2016 Palladio Winner – New Traditional Construction over 30,000 square feet

1 AIA HSW Learning Unit

Speakers: Lori Snyder Garrett, FAIA, LEED Green Associate and H. Randolph Holmes, Jr.; AIA, Senior Principal, Glavé and Holmes Architecture, Richmond, VA

The new Student Success Center at Christopher Newport University is the result of nearly $1 billion invested into applying neoclassical design to the University’s campus. The structure is embedded with Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian orders and is certified as LEED Silver. The domed building is located at the head of the quad, drawing inspiration from centuries of classical ideals on university campuses. This session will look at the challenges of building a neoclassical institutional building and the successes of contemporary technology in executing the details.

Learning Objectives

  • Integrate contemporary demands for sustainability and energy efficiency into a new neoclassical institutional building.
  • Apply current products and manufacturing technology to traditional architectural detailing.
  • The technology surrounding glass production is advancing; use it to comply with life safety and structural codes while creating spatial volumes.
  • Identify physical and technological principles for creating a signature building.