Skip to main content

Winners of the 2006 Competition

The fifth annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized ten architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and was named after Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial and institutional work are:

Restoration & Renovation

Einhorn Yaffee Prescott Architecture & Engineering P.C., Albany, NY.

Sympathetic Additions


New Design & Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Chael, Cooper & Associates, PA, Coral Gables, FL.

Public Spaces: Parks, Plazas, Gardens, Streetscapes

National Monuments Foundation, Atlanta, GA.

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

Isthmus Architecture, Inc., Madison, WI.

Sympathetic Additions

Peter Zimmerman Architects, Berwyn, PA.

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

Historical Concepts, Peachtree City, GA.

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

David Jones Architects, Washington, DC

Residential Multi-Unit

Hartman-Cox Architects, Washington, DC.

Special Award

Urban Design Associates, Pittsburgh, PA.

"In its fifth year, the Palladio Awards program has again shown the impressive depth of talent of those working in traditional architectural languages," says Traditional Building and Period Homes Editor in Chief Michael Carey. "We are proud to honor designers who are concerned with context and continuity, rather than vacuous novelty for its own sake. We are particularly pleased to present a Special Award to Urban Design Associates for the marvelous Norfolk,VA, pattern book. The importance of the role of pattern books in the revitalization of urbanism in the United States cannot be overstated."

The 2006 Palladio Awards were presented at a ceremony in Chicago on Wednesday, April 5, 2006 as part of the Traditional Building Exhibition and Conference. The winners will present their projects the following day and the projects will be published in the June issue of Traditional Building and the July issue of Period Homes.

The jury for this year's program was:

David Mayernik, David Mayernik Ltd. and the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture
Peter Pennoyer, Peter Pennoyer Architects
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company and the University of Miami School of Architecture
Richard Sammons, Fairfax & Sammons Architects
George Skarmeas, Hillier Architecture