Skip to main content

Winners of the 2008 Competition

The seventh annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized ten architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial, institutional and public work are:

Restoration & Renovation

White & Borgognoni Architects, P.C., Carbondale, IL, for the rehabilitation of Union Station in Springfield, IL

Sympathetic Addition

RMJM Hillier, Philadelphia, PA, for an addition to the Virginia State Capitol in Richmond, VA

New Design & Construction– less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Khoury & Vogt Architects, Alys Beach, FL, for “Fonville Press,” a café and bookstore in Alys Beach, FL

New Design & Construction– more than 30,000 sq.ft.

Pier Carlo Bontempi Architettura Civile & Disegno Urbano, Parma, Italy, for “Place de Toscane,” mixed-use buildings and piazza in Val d'Europe, France

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

Andrea Pacciani Architect, Parma, Italy, for the restoration of a country house in Parma, Italy

Sympathetic Addition

Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP, New York, NY, for an addition to a 1926 French Norman farmhouse in Fairfield, CT

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

David Jones Architects, Washington, DC, for a Shingle Style beachfront home in Dewey Beach, DE

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

Neumann Lewis Buchanan Architects, Middleburg, VA, for a stone farmhouse near Shepherdstown, WV

Exterior Spaces – Gardens & Landscapes

Wadia Associates, New Canaan, CT, for “The Gardens at Gitanjali” in New Canaan, CT

Residential Multi-Unit

De la Guardia Victoria Architects & Urbanists, Inc., Coral Gables, FL, for “Almeria Row,” a ten-unit townhouse development in Coral Gables, FL

“2008 is a particularly significant year for the Palladio Awards,” says Traditional Building and Period Homes Editorial Director Michael Carey. “Our seventh year is also the quincentennial of Andrea Palladio’s birth, and it is fitting that in this year, two awards are going to Italian firms.”

The 2008 Palladio Awards were presented at a ceremony in Boston on Wednesday, March 12, 2008 as part of the Traditional Building Exhibition and Conference. The winners presented their projects the following day and the projects were published in the June issue of Traditional Building and the July issue of Period Homes.

The jury for this year’s program was:

Marianne Cusato, principal, Marianne Cusato Associates and Cusato Cottages, LLC
Victor Deupi, Arthur Ross Director of Education, the Institute of Classical Architecture
& Classical America
Clem Labine, founder, Traditional Building, Period Homes and The Old-House Journal
Mark Thaler, principal, Einhorn Yaffee Prescott Architecture & Engineering P.C.
John Tittmann, principal, Albert, Righter & Tittmann Architects, Inc.