Skip to main content

Winners of the 2010 Competition

The ninth annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized 11 architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial, institutional and public work are:

Restoration & Renovation

John G. Waite Associates, Architects, PLLC, Albany, NY, for the restoration of the Basilica of the Assumption, Baltimore, MD

Sympathetic Addition

Atkin Olshin Schade Architects, Philadelphia, PA, for the additions to St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Indianapolis, IN

New Design & Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Robert A. M. Stern Architects, LLP, New York, NY, for Flinn Hall and Edelman Hall at the Hotchkiss School, Lakeville, CT

New Design & Construction – more than 30,000 sq.ft.

Robert A. M. Stern Architects, LLP, New York, NY, for Alan B. Miller Hall, The Mason School of Business at the College of William & Mary, Williamsburg, VA

Parks, Plazas, Gardens & Streetscapes

Khoury & Vogt Architects, Alys Beach, FL, for Lake Marilyn, Somerset Bridge and Seagarden, Alys Beach, FL

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

James Merrell Architects, P.C., Sag Harbor, NY, for the renovation of Maycroft, North Haven, NY

Sympathetic Addition

Michael G. Imber, Architects, San Antonio, TX, for additions to Medina River Ranch, Medina, TX

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

Braulio Casas Architects, P.A., Seaside, FL, for a new residence, Seaside, FL

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP, New York, NY, for a new residence on Long Island Sound, Westport, CT

Exterior Spaces – Gardens & Landscapes

Richard Anderson Landscape Architect , Atlanta, GA, for the landscape design of an English country home, Atlanta, GA

Residential Multi-Unit

Roman and Williams Buildings and Interiors, New York, NY, for 211 Elizabeth Street, New York, NY

Special Award

David Scott Parker Architects, LLC, Southport, CT, for a pool pavilion on a Georgian Revival estate in Massachusetts

The 2010 Palladio Awards were presented at a ceremony in October, 2010 as part of the Traditional Building Exhibition and Conference in Chicago. The commercial, institutional and public projects were published in the June issue of Traditional Building, and the residential projects were published in the July issue of Period Homes.

This year’s jury was comprised of:

Cate Comerford, AIA, principal, Cate Comerford Architects, Ocean Grove, NJ
Christine G. H. Franck, principal, Christine G. H. Franck, Inc., New York, NY
Clem Labine, editor emeritus, Traditional Building and Period Homes, Brooklyn, NY
Robert D. Loversidge, Jr., FAIA, president and CEO, Schooley Caldwell Associates, Columbus, OH
Eric R. Osth, AIA, LEED AP, principal, Urban Design Associates, Pittsburgh, PA
Daniela Holt Voith, AIA, LEED, IIDA, principal, Voith & Mactavish Architects, Philadelphia, PA
Charles Warren, principal, Charles Warren Architect, New York, NY
Stephen C. Wright, AIA, principal, Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas + Company, Norfolk, VA