Skip to main content

Winners of the 2011 Competition

The 10th annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized nine architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial, institutional and public work are:

Restoration & Renovation

John Milner Architects, Chadds Ford, PA, for the restoration of the Nemours Mansion & Gardens, Wilmington, DE

Sympathetic Addition

Glenn Keyes Architects, Charleston, SC, for the steeple addition to the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist, Charleston, SC

New Design & Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Duncan G. Stroik Architect, South Bend, IN, for the Chapel of Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity, Santa Paula, CA

New Design & Construction – more than 30,000 sq.ft.

Glavé & Holmes Architecture, Richmond, VA, for the Carole Weinstein International Center at the University of Richmond, Richmond, VA

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

Hilton-VanderHorn Architects, Greenwich, CT, for the renovation of a French Country residence, Greenwich, CT

Sympathetic Addition

Grandberg & Associates Architects, Mt. Kisco, NY, for additions to a 1920s residence, Westport, CT

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

Michael G. Imber Architects, San Antonio, TX, for the Beachtown House, Galveston, TX

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

Sachs & Lindores, Brooklyn, NY, for a Shingle Style residence, Rhode Island

Exterior Spaces – Gardens & Landscapes

James Doyle Design Associates, Greenwich, CT, for the landscape design of a Connecticut estate, Greenwich, CT

The Palladio Awards will be presented at a ceremony in July as part of the Traditional Building Conference in Boston. The commercial, institutional and public projects will be published in the June issue of Traditional Building, and the residential projects will be published in the July issue of Period Homes.

This year’s jury was comprised of:

Gary Brewer, AIA, partner, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, New York, NY
Clem Labine, editor emeritus, Traditional Building and Period Homes, Brooklyn, NY
John Murray, AIA, principal, John B. Murray Architect, New York, NY
Gil Schafer, AIA, principal, G. P. Schafer Architect, New York, NY
Laura Smiros, partner, Smiros & Smiros Architects, Glen Cove, NY
Ilene Tyler, FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP, principal, Quinn Evans Architects, Ann Arbor, MI
Graham Wyatt, AIA, partner, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, New York, NY
Don Zivkovic, AIA, principal, Zivkovic Connolly Architects, New York, NY