Skip to main content

Winners of the 2012 Competition

The 11th annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized nine architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial, institutional and public work are:

New Construction – more than 30,000 sq.ft.

HBRA Architects, Chicago, IL, for the Federal Building and Courthouse, Tuscaloosa, AL

Adaptive Reuse

Treanor Architects, Kansas City, MO, for The Eisenhower Ridge Building 19, Dwight D. Eisenhower Veterans Affairs Medical Center Campus, Leavenworth, KS

New Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Robert A.M. Stern Architects, New York, NY, for Our Lady of Mercy Chapel, Salve Regina University, Newport, RI

Restoration & Renovation

John G. Waite Associates, Albany, NY, for the African Meeting House, Boston, MA

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

John Milner Architects, Chadds Ford, PA, for the Jayne House, Philadelphia, PA

Sympathetic Addition

Architectural Resource, Ann Arbor, MI, for an Italianate residence, Dexter, MI

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

J. Lawton Thies Architects, Chicago, IL for the Myers Park Residence, Charlotte, NC

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

Don B. McDonald Architect, San Antonio, TX, for the Harvey Ranch House, Industry, TX

Exterior Spaces – Gardens & Landscapes

Janice Parker Landscape Design, New York, NY, for Turkey Farm, Millbrook, NY

The Palladio Awards were presented at a ceremony in July, 2012 as part of the Traditional Building Conference in Boston. The commercial, institutional and public projects were published in the June issue of Traditional Building, and the residential projects were published in the July issue of Period Homes.

This year’s jury was comprised of:

Stephen Byrns, AIA, LEED AP, partner, BKSK Architects, New York, NY
Donald Kaliszewski, AIA, LEED AP, principal, Urban Design Associates, Pittsburgh, PA
Clem Labine, editor emeritus, Traditional Building and Period Homes, Brooklyn, NY
Raymond Pepi, president, Building Conservation Associates, New York, NY
Jack Pyburn, FAIA, principal, Lord, Aeck & Sargent Architect, Atlanta, GA
Don Swofford, FAIA, principal, Don Swofford Architect, Charlottesville, VA
Craig Williams, AIA, LEED AP, principal, David M. Schwarz Architects, Washington, DC
Peter Zimmerman, AIA, NCARB, principal, Peter Zimmerman Architects, Berwyn, PA