Skip to main content

Winners of the 2013 Competition

The 12th annual Palladio Awards competition has recognized 11 architectural firms for outstanding work in traditional design for commercial, institutional, public and residential projects.

The Palladio Awards program is co-produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and is named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while drawing on past models for inspiration.

The winners for commercial, institutional and public work are:

New Construction – more than 30,000 sq.ft.

Richard M. Economakis Architectural Design, South Bend, IN, for the Civic Hall in the New Town of Cayala, Guatemala

Sympathetic Addition

New Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.

Neumann Lewis Buchanan Architects, Washington, DC, for the RdV Vineyards Winery, Middleburg, VA

Duncan G. Stroik Architect, South Bend, IN, for the restoration of the Cathedral of St. Joseph, Sioux Falls, SD

The winners for residential work are:

Restoration & Renovation

Rynerson O’Brien Architecture, Oakland, CA, and Paul Duchscherer, San Francisco, CA, for the restoration of the McDonald Mansion, Santa Rosa, CA

Sympathetic Addition

Peter Zimmerman Architects, Berwyn, PA, for additions to a residence, Haverford, PA

New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.

David Jones Architects, Washington, DC, for the Cape Cod Cottage, Truro, MA

New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.

Michael G. Imber Architects, San Antonio, TX, for Casa de las Lomas, Austin, TX

Exterior Spaces – Gardens & Landscapes

Doyle Herman Design Associates, Greenwich, CT, for Belle Haven, Greenwich, CT


Runberg Architecture Group, Seattle, WA, for The Sanctuary, Seattle, WA

The Palladio Awards will be presented at a ceremony in conjunction with the Traditional Building Conference Series. The commercial, institutional and public projects will be published in the June issue of Traditional Building, and the residential projects will be published in the July issue of Period Homes.

This year's jury was comprised of:

Robert Baird, vice president, Historical Arts & Casting, West Jordan, UT
Craig Brandt, principal, HBRA Architects, Chicago, IL
Brian Connolly, principal, Zivkovic Connolly Architects, New York, NY
Ira Grandberg, principal, Grandberg & Associates Architects, Mount Kisco, NY
Clem Labine, editor emeritus, Traditional Building and Period Homes, Brooklyn, NY
David Parker, principal, David Scott Parker Architects, Southport, CT
Mark Thaler, principal, Mark Thaler, AIA, Architect, Albany, NY
Charlotte Worthy, principal, Charlotte Worthy Architects, New York, NY